Connect with us


Josh Turner To Release First Christmas Album “King Size Manger”



Josh Turner

Josh Turner is releasing his first-ever Christmas album, King Size MangerOctober 8th on MCA Nashville.  The holiday project features fresh interpretations of the classics and introduces four originals, three of which were written or co-written by Turner. Plus, Turner is joined by very special guests including Turner’s wife and four boys singing a holiday classic, a family tradition Turner wanted to feature on this special album. In support of the album, Turner will embark on a 16-city Holiday & The Hits Tour, culminating at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium, where the album will come to life alongside Turner’s most notable hits.

“Making a Christmas record can be a mighty daunting task for an artist,” says Turner. “There are so many songs to choose from and there’ve been so many versions of those songs throughout history. It can be intimidating to know whether you’ll be able to measure up to what’s already been done and when I get to that point, I step back and remind myself that I have to do what I hear in my heart. You may be surprised to hear my arrangement on some of these songs that you know so well.  We had a lot of fun throwing out all the preconceived notions of what a Christmas record should sound like. In my opinion, it’s about the words and the heart and soul of how a song sounds. You don’t need jingle bells on a song to make it a Christmas song.”

Turner arranged five of the 11 tracks on King Size Manger and its four original songs include the solo penned “Mele Kalikimaka My ‘Ohana” featuring world renowned ukulele virtuoso Jake Shimabukuro and Grammy-nominated Hawaiian trio Ho’okena. Turner also wrote “What He’s Given Me” with Pat McLaughlin, as well as the title track “King Size Manger” with Mark Narmore. The album also includes the poignant Travis Hill/Tom Douglas track “Soldier’s Gift.” Christmas music fans will also find the beloved classics “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas,” which features Josh Turner’s wife Jennifer and his four children, as well as “Joy To The World” featuring Rhonda Vincent the queen of bluegrass.

 King Size Manger Track Listing:

1.  Angels We Have Heard On High 

2.  What He’s Given Me (Featuring Pat McLaughlin)*

3.  King Size Manger*

4.  Joy To The World (Featuring Rhonda Vincent) 

5.  Soldier’s Gift*

6.  Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas (Featuring The Turner Family) 

7.  Go Tell It On The Mountain 

8.  Mele Kalikimaka My ‘Ohana (Featuring Jake Shimabukuro and Ho’okena)* 

9.  The First Nowell 

10. Santa Claus Is Comin’ To Town 

11. Silent Night, Holy Night 

Produced by Kenny Greenberg

*denotes original

Continue Reading



By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.