New Artist ACM Winners Announced

12391015_10153431054884102_5227633219585790073_nThe Academy of Country Music has announced the winners of this year’s New Artist awards, with C2C 2016 performers Chris Stapleton and Old Dominion both victorious, along with Kelsea Ballerini who won New Female Vocalist.

Chris Stapleton fought off stiff competition from Thomas Rhett, Chris Janson, Brett Eldredge and Chase Rice to be crowned New Male Vocalist of the Year; another award to add to the growing collection following his two Grammy awards in February. Chris’ debut album ‘Traveller’ has totally dominated the album chart since his performance with Justin Timberlake at the CMAs last year and still sits at #2 after 46 weeks on the chart.

Old Dominion won the New Vocal Duo or Group award ahead of A Thousand Horses, Brothers Osborne, Maddie and Tae, and Parmalee. Their debut album ‘Meat and Candy’ was a refreshing new twist on country music, blending influences of pop and R&B to create a very distinctive ‘Old Dominion sound’. They also had a smash hit single last year with ‘Break Up With Him’, and they impressed at this year’s Country to Country festival in London.

Kelsea Ballerini won the award for New Female Vocalist as she prepares to release her next single ‘Peter Pan’. This is her first voted industry trophy. At the ACM Awards ceremony next month, she will be competing with Jana Kramer, Carrie Underwood, Kacey Musgraves and Miranda Lambert for the ‘established’ Female Vocalist crown.