New Release Round-Up: June 18th


It’s a week when the ‘A-Listers’ Luke Bryan and Zac Brown Band have released new music, and they have certainly delivered in terms of quality.  

It’s been a strong release week across the board, as we hope to demonstrate with this week’s picks. Don’t let these go under your radar!


Rumer recently chatted to YLIAS about her new project, ‘Nashville Tears’, which will be released on 14th August. It’s her first foray into country music, a project that was inspired by the song writing of Hugh Prestwood, which contains 15 of his songs many never recorded before now.

‘Deep Summer in the Deep South’ is the first release from the new project.


Sarah’s from Bluefield, West Virginia and idolises Loretta Lynn. It’s no surprise that her style of country music leans towards a traditional vibe.

She waited tables at Nashville cafés before signing a publishing deal with Horipro Entertainment, which led to her songs being recorded by Tyler Farr, Alan Jackson, Gretchen Wilson and more.

She opened for Martina McBride last year and her new single has already been included on CMT’s Next Women of Country.


Texans Craig Wayne Boyd and Casey James, together with New Hampshire born Adam Wakefield are the voices behind Texas Hill. They individually appeared on ‘The Voice’ and ‘American Idol’ before teaming up to create a three-part harmony group, with each performing lead vocals to suit the song.

‘Darkest Sky’ shows the quality of their vocal harmonies and is the first song that they have recorded as a band. The video was premiered by Billboard last week. Check it out.


Lori’s new album ‘The Balladeer’ will be with us on 24th July, and this is second single release that she has shared from it. The video emphasises the fighting theme – it was filmed at Title Boxing Club in Nashville.

The song describes the ups and downs of marriage and the need to avoid going to bed angry.

The album has been produced by Dave Cobb and will be follow up to her 2018 album, ‘The Tree’.


John Prine’s ‘Tree of Forgiveness’ was a huge success in 2018. The sales of that album surpassed many of the current big players and led to a very successful tour that cemented his place as one of Nashville’s most revered singer songwriters.

‘I Remember Everything’ was intended as the first recording on Prine’s follow-up project. Dave Cobb was enlisted as a producer, but sadly there will be no more music from John Prine, who lost his life following complications from COVID-19 in April.

It’s a fitting final chapter. The song looks back at snapshots of his life and was co-written with Pat McLaughlin.


The Country Music family will be rooting for Granger Smith and the Smith family, who have had to endure a year of grief following the tragic drowning of their three year old son River in June 2019.

The original ‘Dirt Roads’ was released in 2019, but has now been re-released to include a rap from Christian Rapper Lathan Warlick, who was introduced to him by his wife Amber, who saw Warlick’s interpretation of popular songs on Instagram.

The words of Lathan Warlick add inspiration and hope to this stripped-down version of the original single.


They were last in the UK supporting Scotty McCreery in 2019, which seems like a lifetime away.

‘The Climb’ was a multi-platinum hit for Miley Cyrus, and has now been given a revamp by Dawson Anderson and sisters Maddie and Emma Salute, who say that this was a song that resonated with them and suited their multi-vocal arrangements.

The lockdown has briefly put a hold on their plans to expand their reach in country music. They made their Opry debut at the end of last year and were also set to perform at this year’s C2C until the plug was pulled due to the pandemic.


You will be hard-pressed to hear a song that would be more suited to summer country music playlists than Canadian quartet James Barker Band’s ‘Summer Time’.

It’s their first release since their EP, ‘Singles Only’, which contained two hit singles in the Canadian Charts, ‘Good Together’ and ‘Keep It Simple’, and continues the rise of the band.

They appeared at C2C in 2019 and may be the latest Canadian country music artists to receive international recognition.


This is an introduction to a new Nashville threesome, Lost Saints, who have released their debut radio single, ‘We Don’t Fight’.

Comprising of Afton Addington, Chris Biano and Derrick Casteel, they got together in 2017 singing around a piano.

‘We Don’t Fight’ is an emotional ballad about learning to let go of a broken relationship, and may be the opening chapter of a successful career for this talented trio.


It’s a song that has taken on a new meaning due to the Covid-19 pandemic, but was actually written long before the outbreak.

Morgan has released the song as a tribute to the health professionals working on the front line, and he debuted the song during a Grand Ole Opry broadcast in April.

Check out his album, ‘God, Family, Country’, which was released last month.

Next Post

Mary Chapin Carpenter Announces New Album, 'The Dirt and the Stars'

Mary Chapin Carpenter has announced her new album, The Dirt And The Stars, available for pre-order now ahead of its release on August 7th: In advance of the release, the title track, “Between The Dirt And The Stars,” is available now. Produced by Ethan Johns (Ray LaMontagne, Paul McCartney, Kings of Leon) and […]

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.