NPR Premiere Courtney Marie Andrews’ Video For ‘Irene’


Courtney Marie Andrews has released a video for “Irene” off of her breakout record Honest Life today over on NPR. The song is an anthem for the timid, a beautiful hymn to bolster confidence and believe in your potential. Andrews sums it up perfectly saying “Irene is the little voice inside most of us, that says we aren’t good enough, or strong enough. It’s about shutting that voice off, while also accepting life’s inevitable struggles. It’s about coming to terms with you are, and believing in that person. Irene was written for a friend who was going through a confusing time, but like some songs do, over time it turned into a song about not only myself, but all of the women that I love. Irene is amazing, she just doesn’t know it yet.”

Mama Bird Recording Co. & Fat Possum Records are pleased to announce the release of an exclusive coke-bottle green vinyl of Honest Life to independent record stores. This version will include a bonus 7″ of unreleased recordings.  The bundle is limited to 400 copies and can be purchased on September 15, 2017.

Courtney Marie Andrews’ Honest Life grabbed year-end lists from Rolling Stone, Stereogum, Paste, American Songwriter to NPR which lead to her performing on the first episode of the new season of Later…With Jools Holland (alongside Thundercat, Anderson Paak, Spoon), and has received glowing press including a major BBC profile, five star review in The Telegraph,  multiple features in The Guardian and a profile in The Independent. Her duet with Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy for Our First 100 Days was lauded by Stereogum, Consequence of Sound, Brooklyn Vegan and Paste. Andrews has just returned from a successful tour with Joe Pug in Australia and will be on a headlining tour in Europe in the fall, an official showcase at the Americana Music Fest in Nashville and a North American tour with Hamilton Leithauser beginning in October.

Honest Life:

1. Rookie Dreaming

2. Not The End

3. Irene

4. How Quickly Your Heart Mends

5. Let The Good One Go

6. Honest Life

7. Table For One

8. Put The Fire Out

9. 15 Highway Lines

10. Only In My Mind

Bonus 7″

1. Sea Town

2. Near You

“[Honest Life] is an expert marriage of gracefully confessional songwriting with country-folk arrangements that recall Joni Mitchell.” – Stephen Deusner, Stereogum

“Her songs are anchored by smart lyricism that seems more like an intimate conversation than a fiery confessional.” – Marissa R. Moss, Rolling Stone

“Courtney Marie Andrews is the best songwriter you’ve never heard of.” – Brittney McKenna, American Songwriter

“Joni Mitchell is the logical comparison to the soft howl and deep-Canyon vibrato of her vocals, but there are echoes of the Indigo Girls and even Ryan Adams’ Gold too since her songs are anchored by smart lyricism that seems more like an intimate conversation than a fiery confessional.” – Marissa R. Moss, Rolling Stone Country

“Plenty of vocalists can sing with power, and some can sing with convincing subtlety. There aren’t very many who can do both in the same breath. Courtney Marie Andrews is one of those rare artists.” – Eric Danton, Paste

“Andrews’s voice is pure and sweet with nuanced warbles and flutters and a little break on the top notes, bringing to mind the tremulous flow of Emmylou Harris… while the poetic economy of her lyrics is right up there with such masters of the country vignette as Guy Clark and John Prine.” – Neil McCormick, The Telegraph

“So the album goes: over and above the intimacy of the sparse acoustic landscapes and her unaffected vocals – Joni Mitchell and Alela Diane are clear influences – the delicate lyrical barbs make Honest Life one to hear.” – Caroline Sullivan, The Guardian

Next Post

REVIEW: Sara Evans - 'Words'

Sara Evans bursts back on to the scene after a 3-year silence with her 8th solo album, and what an album it is. ‘Words’ is the first album released on Sara’s own label

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.