More Performers Announced For UK Americana Awards


Two weeks to go to the third annual UK Americana Awards and the AMA-UK has revealed news of more artists to perform at the event, in what is set to be a dazzling night of the best in Americana music. The stellar line-up will include:

Recipient of 2018’s Lifetime Achievement Award – Robert Plant and the Sensational Space Shifters

The Wandering Hearts – recipients of the Bob Harris Emerging Artist Award 2018

International Artist of the Year nominees – Imelda May, Angaleena Presley and Courtney Marie-Andrews, whose Honest Life is also nominated for International Album of the Year

Emily Barker – nominated for UK Artist of the Year and UK Album of the Year for Sweet Kind Of Blue

Aaron Lee Tasjan – International Song of the Year nominee for Ready To Die

Robert Vincent – nominated for UK Album of the Year for I’ll Make The Most Of My Sins and the first recipient of the Bob Harris Emerging Artist Award, in 2016

Worry Dolls – UK Song of the Year nominees for Endless Road

The UK Americana Awards show 2018 will be hosted by legendary broadcaster Bob Harris OBE and Ethan Johns will once again be musical director. Robert Plant, Mumford & Sons and Come Down & Meet The Folks, honoured by AMA-UK board this year, will be presented with their Awards during the ceremony, as will the winners in the seven AMA-UK membership-voted categories and Bob Harris Emerging Artist Award recipients The Wandering Hearts. Full details and the nominations shortlist follow below.

It has also been announced that hotly tipped US singer-songwriter Tyler Childers has been added to the AmericanaFest UK showcase line-up for January 31st.

AmericanaFest UK is a two-day event taking place in London on January 31st and February 1st, which  will include daytime conferences on both days at Hackney House, an evening of showcases on Wednesday 31st January in multiple venues around Hackney and the prestigious UK Americana Awards on Thursday 1st February at Hackney Empire.

International showcase artists for 2018 include: The Texas Gentlemen, Prinz Grizzley, Kasheena Sampson, Rev.Sekou, Joana Seratt, The Remedy Club, Beth Bombara, Jacob Dineson, Jaime Wyatt and The Americans. They join up and coming UK artists: Curse of Lono, Steve Grozier, Colin MacLeod, Donald Byron Wheatley, James Edwyn and the Borrowed Band, Lauren Housley, Little Folk, Lunch Special, Orphan Colours, Robbie Cavanagh, Shooter Jennings, The Buffalo Skinners, The Fargo Railroad Co, The Often Herd, Benjamin William Pike, Elles Bailey and Tyler Childers.

Two days of conference sessions are set to feature Billy Bragg delivering the keynote speech, a masterclass in songwriting from Mary Gauthier, Beth Nielsen Chapman, Sam Baker and Chris Difford and platforms hosting panellists from across the music industry including artists Frank Turner, Danni Nicholls, Joanna Seratt, Danny George Wilson and Darlingside.

In a first for 2018, AmericanaFest UK will include a film screening on Tuesday 30th January – “The Orphan Brigade – Soundtrack To A Ghost Story”. The Orphan Brigade will perform live afterwards, joined by 2018 nominees Danni Nicholls and Emily Barker.


UK Album of the Year

Brilliant Light by Danny & The Champions of The World (produced by Chris Clarke)

I’ll Make The Most Of My Sins by Robert Vincent (produced by Robert Vincent, Michael Gay and Etienne Girard)

Proud Disturber Of The Peace by William The Conqueror (produced by Ruarri Joseph and Harry Harding)

Sweet Kind Of Blue by Emily Barker (produced by Matt Ross-Spang)

International Album of the Year

A Deeper Understanding by The War On Drugs (produced by Adam Granduciel)

Honest Life by Courtney Marie Andrews (produced by Courtney Marie Andrews)

So You Wannabe Be An Outlaw by Steve Earle & The Dukes (produced by Richard Bennett)

The Nashville Sound by Jason Isbell (produced by Dave Cobb)

UK Song of the Year

Devon Brigade by Police Dog Hogan (written by James Studholme)

Endless Road by Worry Dolls (written by Zoe Nicol, Rosie Jones and Jeff Cohen)

Home by Yola Carter (written by Yola Carter)

Moonshine by Foy Vance (written by Foy Vance)

International Song of the Year

Pa’lante  by Hurray For The Riff Raff  (written by Alynda Segarra and Pedro Pietri)

Ready To Die by Aaron Lee Tasjan (written by Aaron Lee Tasjan)

Thirteen Silver Dollars by Colter Wall (written by Colter Wall)

Tenderheart by Sam Outlaw (written by Sam Outlaw)

UK Artist of the Year

Danni Nicholls

Danny & The Champions of The World

Emily Barker

Laura Marling

International Artist of the Year

Angaleena Presley

Courtney Marie Andrews

Imelda May

Rhiannon Giddens

UK Instrumentalist of the Year

Georgina Leach

Kit Hawes

Harry Harding

Thomas Collison

Lifetime Achievement Award

Selected by the board members, their highest honour is awarded to a UK artist, duo or group in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the Americana genre over the span of their career and life in music.

Recipient 2018: Robert Plant

Bob Harris Emerging Artist Award

Selected by Bob Harris OBE, this special award celebrates the breakthrough artist, duo or group that has particularly impressed the legendary music broadcaster throughout the year.

Recipient 2018: The Wandering Hearts

The Grass Roots Award: a newly-established award selected by the board members, this special award celebrates the sometimes un-sung heroes of the UK Americana scene. It is presented to people working in the industry (in a capacity other than as artists) who have made outstanding efforts to support Americana music from the grass roots up.

Recipient 2018 – Come Down & Meet The Folks

The Trailblazer Award celebrating a UK artist, duo or group that has taken an exceptional path, inspiring others to follow in their footsteps in developing the Americana genre.

Recipient 2018 – Mumford & Sons

The Best-Selling Americana Album of 2017 will be announced at the Awards show:

The AMA-UK works with the Official Charts Company to create the UK Americana Chart. This Award is given to the best-selling Americana Album of the year, by a UK Artist.


Next Post

SPOTLIGHT: Alex Stern To Release 'Dreamin' January 26th

Bold breakthrough artist ALEX STERN ​is set to release her highly anticipated new single DREAMIN’ across all digital and streaming platforms on 1/26

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.