Connect with us


Sturgill Simpson Drops Surprise Double Bluegrass Album



Sturgill Simpson’s surprise double bluegrass album, Cuttin’ Grass Vol 1 – The Butcher Shoppe Sessions is out now digitally on High Top Mountain Records via Thirty Tigers/The Orchard. Produced by David Ferguson, the single I Don’t Mind is an unreleased fan favourite. Vinyl preorder available now for release December 11, 2020.

Simpson returns to the music of his native Kentucky with his first bluegrass project which he calls “a mixtape for the fans.” Dreamed up while he was home recovering from Coronavirus, Simpson reimagines songs from his catalogue backed by some of Nashville’s finest acoustic virtuosos or as he refers to them “bona fide wizards.”

“I had it in my mind for a long time that someday I want to cut as many of these songs as possible in this fashion, just organic and stripped down to the raw bones of the composition. If you can’t sit down and play a song like that, it’s probably a pretty shitty song.” 

Tracklist for Cuttin’ Grass Vol 1 – The Butcher Shoppe Sessions: 
1. All Around You
2. All The Pretty Colors
3. Breaker’s Roar
4. I Don’t Mind
5. I Wonder
6. Just Let Go
7. Life Ain’t Fair and The World Is Mean 
8. A Little Light
9. Life of Sin
10. Long White Line
11. Living The Dream
12. Old King Coal
13. Railroad of Sin
14. Sitting Here Without You 
15. Sometimes Wine
16.The Storm
17. Time After All
18. Turtles All The Way Down
19. Voices
20. Water In A Well 

Vocals, Rhythm Guitar: Sturgill Simpson 
Mandolin, Vocals: Sierra Hull 
Bass: Mike Bub 
Fiddle, Vocals: Stuart Duncan 
Banjo, Vocals: Scott Vestal 
Rhythm Guitar, Lead Guitar, Vocals: Tim O’Brien 
Rhythm Guitar, Lead Guitar, Vocals: Mark Howard 
Percussion, Vocals: Miles Miller 

Produced by: David Ferguson 
Mixed and Engineered by: David Ferguson & Sean Sullivan 

Continue Reading



By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.