Toby Keith To Release ‘Greatest Hits: The Show Dog Years’ In October


The 2005 launch of his own record label Show Dog Nashville was the final step in Toby Keith’s journey to complete musical freedom, and he’s marking the creative control he’s enjoyed since with Toby Keith Greatest Hits: The Show Dog Years.

Out October 25, the collection features more than a dozen tracks with four newly recorded songs including “Don’t Let The Old Man In” (from the soundtrack of the Clint Eastwood film The Mule), and his current single, “That’s Country Bro,” which he recently performed live on NBC’s Today, the CMT Music Awardsand The Voicefinale. Two other previously unreleased tracks are “American Ride (Official Remix)” featuring DJ KO and “Back In The 405,” a co-write with Colt Ford that celebrates a hometown girl’s return. The remaining songs compiled include some of the biggest hits of his career.

From country music’s viral high-water mark “Red Solo Cup” and rousing “Made In America,” to the wrenching “She Never Cried In Front Of Me” and mournful “Cryin’ For Me (Wayman’s Song),” to two examples of next-level craftsmanship-meets-perspective in “Hope On The Rocks” and “Don’t Let The Old Man In”, the album is a monument to Keith’s self-directed creativity.

Rocketing out of the chute with his 1993 smash debut single “Should’ve Been A Cowboy,” Keith racked up chart-toppers and platinum albums. And in 1999, Keith punctuated his continuing success with the chart-topper “How Do You Like Me Now?!”

Six years later, Show Dog Nashville put Keith at the top of his own company where he continued to be, musically speaking, at the top of his game. “Well, folks, here it is,” he writes in the liner notes. “The Show Dog years’ biggest hits. I know it’s long overdue, but we put them all in one big pile. Twenty-five years went by fast, but I’m very blessed to have this wonderful career. Still kickin’ it, too. See ya out there on the road.”

Toby Keith Greatest Hits, The Show Dog Years

Track listing:

1. That’s Country Bro*

2. Made In America

3. Beers Ago

4. Red Solo Cup

5. American Ride

6. Don’t Let the Old Man In*

7. God Love Her

8. Hope On The Rocks

9. Trailerhood

10. Cryin’ For Me (Wayman’s Song)

11. She Never Cried In Front Of Me

12.  High Maintenance Woman

13. Love Me If You Can

14. Lost You Anyway

15. Back In The 405*

16. American Ride (Official Remix)*

* Newly recorded songs

Next Post

Hootie & the Blowfish Announce 'Imperfect Circle' Album

As a summer of sold-out shows celebrated by fans and critics alike nears its celebratory three-night U.S. finale in Columbia, S.C., the band Billboard praises as “back and better than ever” will continue the excitement into the fall with today’s announcement of Imperfect Circle, the first new album from Hootie […]

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.